Eagle Scout Information

Life to Eagle Process

The Eagle Scout is the highest award a youth can earn in scouting. Below is the information a Life Scout needs to seek out in order to complete his Eagle.

Life To Eagle Information

Lowes Eagle Scout Service Project Grant

If you are trying to fund your Eagle Project you may apply for a Lowes Grant in the form of a gift card. Please fill out the form below and send back to the Council Service center

Address: 734 Moorehead Ave. Zanesville OH, 43701

                            Lowes Grant Application

                            Lowes Scout Obligations

Advancement Beyond Eagle Scout

Once an Eagle Scout, you may continue to work on your Bronze, Gold, or Silver Palms by completing more than the 21 necessary merit badges. Click below for more information.

Eagle Palm Process

National Eagle Scout Association

Also, Once an Eagle Scout, you can join NESA, or the National Eagle Scout Association. You can join year by year, or become a Life Member. A Life Member may wear a special Eagle Scout Knot on their uniform as an adult. Click below for more information.


Service Project of the Year Award and Scholarships

The Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year application is available through NESA. The Scout fills out the application, and submits to the local Council for NESA Committee approval.

The National Eagle Scout Association offers two types of Eagle Scout scholarships:

Academic Scholarships

The first type of scholarship offered by NESA is the academic scholarship, which includes a varying number of $3,000 NESA scholarships, and a varying number of $2,500 Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke scholarships. The Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke scholarships are awarded annually and include four $20,000 scholarships (payable at $5,000 per year) and one $48,000 scholarship (up to $12,000 payable for four years), plus a varying number of others.

NESA offers two additional academic scholarships including one $50,000 STEM scholarship (up to $12,500 payable for four years) to an applicant who plans to major in a science, technology, engineering, or math field, and one $25,000 United Health Foundation scholarship offered to an applicant who plans to pursue a career in the healthcare arena and is willing to reinvest his knowledge and skills in an underserved community.

NESA academic scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts graduating high school and entering college in the year for which they apply for a scholarship. Scholarships are awarded only to those who graduate from high school in the calendar year in which scholarships are presented. Exception: Scouts whose Eagle Scout boards of review are held the same year of their high school graduation may apply in that calendar year. They may receive a scholarship one time only.

Scholarship committees are formed each year in each of the four BSA regions (Northeast, Southern, Central, and Western) to recommend recipients of these scholarships, with the final determination made by the national NESA Scholarship Committee.

Merit Scholarships

The second type of national Eagle Scout scholarship is the Hall/McElwain Merit Scholarship. Each BSA region reviews applications and awards a varying number of these $1,000 scholarships.

NESA merit scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts graduating high school or undergraduate college students no farther than completion of the junior year. Recipients may receive the scholarship one time only.

More than 5,000 NESA scholarship applications are received each year, and fewer than 150 are awarded, so the competition is stiff. Plans are being formulated to greatly increase the amount of funds available to award NESA Eagle Scout scholarships through future years.